Home Forums Open Calls and Opportunities Poetry & Best Australian Writing open calls

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  AWM Publisher 2 years ago.

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
  • #26211

    AWM Publisher

    Best Australian Writing
    Deadline: 15 July 2016
    Pay: flat $400/essay; $400/short story; $40/poem.
    Early submission would be appreciated. Essays may be published or unpublished. Previously published work must have been published after 1 August 2015. Poems should be enjoyed by ‘general readers’ who don’t ncessarily read much poetry, as well as by those dedicated ones who do. Poems should be >70 lines.
    More information.

    2016 Scanlon Prize
    Deadline: 30 June 2016
    Prize: $2000
    The Scanlon Prize is devoted to a full-length book of poetry by an Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander writer. Submissions are now being sought from poets or publishers for collections published between 1 August 2014 and 1 June 2016 (midnight), for the 2014 Scanlon Prize. Multiple entries are accepted.
    More information.

    Val Vallis Award for Unpublished Poetry
    Deadline: 12 July 2016
    Prize: 1st prize $1000, 2nd prize $500
    The Arts Queensland Val Vallis Award for an unpublished poem is committed to encouraging poets throughout Australia. Now in its 17th year, this prestigious prize is for an unpublished poem or suite of poems of 100 lines or less.
    More information.

    Philip Bacon Ekphrasis Award
    Deadline: 12 July 2016
    Prize: 1st place $500; 2nd place $250; top three poems published online in Verity La.
    This new award is in its second year, named after one of Australia’s premier art dealers, Philip Bacon, who has agreed to be the patron of Queensland’s only ekphrastic prize. The word ‘ekphrasis’ comes from the Greek ek ‘out’ and phrasis ‘speak’, as well as the verb ekphrazein, which means to call an inanimate object by name.
    More information.

    Thomas Shapcott Poetry Prize
    Deadline: 12 July 2016
    Prize: $2000 and publication with UQP
    Named in honour of this distinguished Queensland poet, the Arts Queensland Thomas Shapcott Poetry Prize for an Unpublished Manuscript is committed to encouraging emerging Queensland poets.
    More information.

    XYZ Prize for Innovation in Spoken Word
    Deadline: 12 July 2016
    Prize: total prize of $1000 with winning entries to be published online
    The inaugural XYZ Prize for Innovation in Spoken Word is Australia’s only arts award that recognises the growing field of spoken word, and is named after the former 2010 Arts Queensland Poet in Residence, Emily XYZ, who left a deep impression on many of today’s Queensland spoken word artists.
    More information.

    Sidney Myer Creative Fellowships
    Deadline: 7 August 2016
    Prize: Grant of $160 000 over two years
    The two criteria used to select Fellows are: outstanding talent andexceptional courage.
    Specifically, this talent and courage relates to the artistic practice of the Fellows and not to cases of personal hardship. Nominations are welcome for artists and arts managers across the entire spectrum of the visual, performing, interdisciplinary, new media and literary arts. The Fellowships are intended for artists in their ‘early mid-career’ – to be eligible, nominees must be in the first seven to fifteen years of their creative practice.
    More information.

    2016 Dorothy Hewett Award
    Deadline: 1 August 2016
    Prize: $10 000 and a publishing contract with UWA Publishing.
    The aim of the Dorothy Hewett Award is to support literary talent both in and related to Western Australia, and to celebrate the life and writing of a stalwart Australian radical. The award will be an annual fixture designed to be a catalyst for writers beginning or furthering their professional writing careers. The award is funded by The Copyright Agency’s Cultural Fund.
    More information.

    2016 Gwen Harwood Poetry Prize
    Deadline: 2 September 2016
    Prize: $2000 and publication in Island, plus annual subscriptions to a host of literary magazines.
    The Gwen Harwood prize is for the best unpublished poem or linked suite of poems totaling no more than 80 lines. Now in its 21st year, the Gwen Harwood Poetry Prize remembers Tasmania’s most acclaimed poet.
    More information.

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.